There is no Apostrophe!: What it’s like to read “Finnegans Wake”

James Joyce

James Joyce (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Over the summer I started what I hoped would be a regular blog segment detailing my journey through Finnegans Wake in preparation for my course this summer. Of course I didn’t get very far, and that’s likely not surprising to most of you. If you so choose you can take a look at some of my first thoughts here. My Finnegans Wake course is officially underway now, and because I’m beginning to get into the thick of the book, I thought I’d give you a taste of exactly what it’s like to read the Wake.

I present to you “Finnegans Wake” performed by The Irish Rovers.

This song will, some critics argue, detail the entire plot of the 628 page Finnegans Wake. Of course, James Joyce packed more into the novel than just this old folk song, it’s just that no one has found it yet….

And by the way, this is what it’s actually like to read Finnegans Wake:

Skip to 1:16 to hear James Joyce’s famous conception of thunder.

And then there’s this:

–M.G.

One thought on “There is no Apostrophe!: What it’s like to read “Finnegans Wake”

Sound Off!

